Post #6

Post #6

I don’t really plan on using blogs much because I feel that Twitter can accomplish the same task in an easier fashion. Twitter is great for sharing ideas in a user-friendly manner. Anyone can manage to sign up for Twitter and start posting to a page, whereas blogs are a little bit harder to figure out. Twitter is great for sharing feedback and easily commenting on other’s thoughts. You can also easily connect with pages and people similar to yours from all over the world. The possibilities for sharing info are endless with Twitter. I will definitely use Twitter a lot with students. As a teacher, Twitter would also be great for me to keep up with current news and articles as well as other teachers and their thoughts that could improve my classroom lessons.

It is so important to know how to identify good resources from the internet. In the past I have done projects and found research from two different sites that contradict each other. It is important to use correct information not only for yourself to be informed on your topic, but for your audience. As a teacher especially, a quality resource is important so that you can be confident in the information you pass along to your students. Showing parents how to properly evaluate sources is great so that students can be instilled with this skill early on. Citing sources has always been a hassle for me because I didn’t learn about this skill until college. I feel that if I learned it earlier I would have understood the purpose more. I think the Web Hunt was an interesting assignment. I learned that google searching can be made a lot easier and that you don’t always find the correct answers on the first search. I can use that assignment to help make research easier for my students in the future.

Comments I made:

https://klh13e.wordpress.com/2015/02/19/blog-post-6/comment-page-1/#comment-22

https://sammgronau.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/blog-post-5/comment-page-1/#comment-11

4 thoughts on “Post #6

  1. I agree with what you said about citing sources! My teachers in middle school would only make us put the links or the title of the webpage, but now I know how important it is to list in APA so they can see the entirety of the information. Also, just listing it in APA or MLA doesn’t make it a good source. I too have also found that a lot of websites contradict each other. For example, say in a biology class you’re given an assignment to diagnose a patient, going on WebMD might leave you with less than reliable sources considering that they usually tell you that you have some chronic life-altering disease when you could really just be having a cold!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree that Twitter would be a fun way to connect with your students, but make sure that you also connect with their parents. For that, I think a class blog or course website would be the best option because it takes the parents directly to the information they are trying to find and they do not have to create an account.

    Like

Leave a comment